Salt Lake City Salt Lake Co. UT divorce lawyer fees

Divorce Doesn't Have to Destroy Your Kids - Guidelines For Divorcing and Divorced Parents

utah divorce child support

Go Back

You and your spouse have decided to get a divorce. But, what do you do now? Many people don't know what to do next. This how-to guide should serve this purpose for you and your spouse. It should help alleviate some of the stress and worry you face when going through a divorce in Utah.

There are many different reasons to get a divorce. The state of Utah has set forth its own specific laws concerning divorce. One important thing to consider is that there will never be a jury for any divorce case in Utah. The Utah Divorce Court allows a couple to get an official no-fault divorce. The grounds for a no-fault divorce could be as simple as irreconcilable differences. Utah state divorce laws cannot prevent a divorce if one spouse desires the divorce and one spouse does not.

The state of Utah also offers Divorce Education Classes. These classes offer divorce education for parents, as well as for children. Once you and your spouse have decided to get a divorce, you will need to fill out all appropriate paperwork. You can go to utcourts.gov to get the necessary paperwork. It is also extremely helpful to seek the assistance of a Divorce Lawyer in the state of Utah. These lawyers specialize in Utah divorce proceedings and are the best resource to help you fill out necessary paperwork and give legal counsel concerning your particular case. Utah also offers a computer program, Quick Court, which is an easy way to fill out the divorce application.

There is a cost associated with filing for divorce in the state of Utah. This fee is $310 for the first filing and $115 for a counterclaim. Of course, there will be additional fees according to which lawyer you decide upon.

Utah state law strongly encourages each couple seeking a divorce to settle decisions concerning the dividing of debt/assets, child custody and more between themselves. In most cases, the couple and their lawyers will draw up an agreement. Mediators are also used to help draft resolutions between the two parties. Any agreement reached in mediation or otherwise will be sanctioned by the Utah state court.

In some instances, a couple cannot reach an agreement outside of court. The court will make the decision for them in these situations. Specialized divorce commissioners will sometimes hear the dispute. If the dispute goes to trial, the judge will hear it and make the final decision.

After all of your paperwork has been filled out and submitted, you will need to appear before the judge. These appearances may not require you to be in attendance physically, depending on your particular circumstances.

Obtaining a divorce can be a stressful time for you, your spouse and your children (if any). Choosing the right Utah Divorce attorney can make this time as stress-free as possible. This how-to guide should also help you understand the process of getting a divorce in the state of Utah.

Go Forward

Family Law Attorneys are standing by call 1-800-564-2707

For more information click on these words here.

Home

Salt Lake City Salt Lake Co. UT dealing with divorce lawyers

Divorce Assistance - Four Ways to Remain Sane While You Are in the Process of Divorce

utah divorce laws property distribution

Go Back

When homeowners are facing a divorce, one of the most difficult decisions is determining what to do with the house. Because this decision can be highly emotional, important factors can be overlooked and the final decision could be a major financial mistake for both parties.

Couples under the duress of ending a relationship need to step back and look at the true financial value of the house before making a decision. Divorce is scary, so fighting to hold onto the house may provide a level of comfort. But this may be short-lived once a newly single person is weighed down by the high cost of the house. The better choice might be to sell the house, even if you owe more than it is worth. A divorce situation opens the door to getting out from under a financially upside-down house and a potential foreclosure.

Divorcing homeowners need to realize how the tremendous decline in housing values has affected the value of their house. Even if they have owned the house for as long as seven years, they still may owe more than the house is worth. With housing values continuing to decline, it may not be worth fighting to keep a house and ending up with an asset that is worth less than you owe. A better alternative may be a short sale of the house.

Divorcing homeowners can determine if they should sell the house by:

• Checking its market value. A simple way to get a "general" idea of the market value is to check the county's appraised value. This can be done by visiting the county's Appraisal District website. A more accurate way is to have a local realtor assess the value of the house.

• Checking the principal balance of the mortgage. Most mortgage companies provide the principal balance on the monthly statement, or you can call the mortgage company and ask for the "principal balance."

If the principal balance is higher than the market value, a short sale may be the answer. Most mortgage companies recognize a divorce as a justifiable reason for a short sale.

In a short sale, the proceeds from the sale amount to less than the balance owed. The bank or lender agrees to discount a loan balance due to an economic or financial hardship caused by the divorce. This negotiation is done through communication with a bank's loss mitigation or short sale department by a professional company.

For the homeowner, advantages include getting out from under an upside-down house, avoiding a foreclosure on their credit history, and partial control of the monetary deficiency.

Other considerations for divorcing homeowners include:

• Most lenders require a licensed real estate agent to list the house and conduct the short sale. The agent should be experienced at short sales.

• You should never pay anything for a short sale. The real estate company is paid by your lender after the sale.

• Beware of fraud. Make sure any company you work with is legitimate, with a business address and website. If all you have is an individual's cell phone number, this is not a good sign. Also, the company should never ask for payment.

• When deciding if you should keep the house, determine the total costs. The mortgage payment may be the largest cost, but there are also insurance, taxes, utilities, and yard care. Maintenance is a major consideration, because some big items need to be replaced every 10 to 15 years, such as a roof, air conditioning system, water heater, and kitchen appliances.

A divorce is one of the hardest and most emotionally draining events in your life, and following it with a foreclosure will only make things worse. As difficult as it may be, this is the time to look past emotional bonds to the house and focus on the numbers.

Go Forward

Family Law Attorneys are standing by call 1-800-564-2707

For more information click on these words here.

Home