Eden Utah chat with divorce lawyer

My Wife Wants a Divorce But I Don't - What Do I Do?

utah divorce attorney free consultation

Go Back

Nowadays one can find free divorce records, especially records that date far back. If you are looking for records that date back as far as the early 1900's you will be able to obtain these records on websites such as Ancestry.com and RootsWeb.com. However, this can be a challenging task as divorce was not a common factor way back then.

In addition there many libraries that have local history rooms and vital records are kept their dating back centuries. One can also obtain such documents and records at your local county or state government building. If you are seeking any recent records then you can obtain these for no cost online or at your local county office.

Divorce records are needed for various reasons. If you are getting married once again, you will need your previous divorce paper before you will be issued with a marriage license. These particular records are on public display and are available to whoever needs a record. Some records can be obtained free and other need to be paid for. The cost will depend on which state you reside in and which state you want a record from.

For example the state of California charges $13 and New York City $10, and each state has its own cost for copies of public records. One of the most helpful resources when looking for vital records is the internet. One can go directly to the National Center for Health Statistics and obtain any information you require such as death and birth certificates, to marriage certificates and divorce documents from any state.

There are hundreds of other helpful websites such as Akiba.com and SearchSystems.com as well as many others. These sites can help you obtain the documentation you need easily and efficiently. Yes they will charge a small fee and may be slightly more than the vital records department. However, it is worth it in the long run. If all the above fail you can then get a private investigator to do a search for you, as they have access to divorce records that are not available. This option is rather costly. This process is guaranteed success or no payment.

Most divorce records are not confidential material making it legal to obtain a copy as well as do some research on this type of document. All you need is a computer and internet access and you can find the information you are looking for, although not 100% guaranteed.

Go Forward

Family Law Attorneys are standing by call 1-800-564-2707

For more information click on these words here.

Home

Eden Utah what do divorce lawyers cost

Learn More About a Divorce Lawyer

utah divorce no fault state

Go Back

The state of Utah has important guidelines and statutes concerning child custody and the making of a custody and visitation schedule. These laws are found in Title 30 of the Utah Code. Any parent who is involved in a custody situation needs to know these laws and decide how they impact the making of their personal custody and visitation schedule. Here is an overview of some of the statutes that parents may want to consider.

1. A joint custody schedule. Chapter 3, Section 10 of Title 30 contains information about how the state views joint custody. The state has a law that it considers a joint custody schedule in every custody case. This doesn't mean that joint custody is awarded in every case, only that the court will consider it. If either parent wants a shared custody arrangement, they need to make a plan that includes a schedule of parenting time and custody. They should also be prepared to explain how a joint schedule is in the best interest of the child. If a parent does not want this type of custody, they need to prove to the court that this type of arrangement is detrimental to the child.

2. How custody is awarded. The biggest part of the visitation schedule is which parent has custody and which parent has visitation. In Utah, if the parents agree on who has custody, the court will approve it. If the mother and father are not able to agree, the court will decide on the custody schedule. The judge will look at the moral character of each parent and will also choose the parent who is more likely to encourage the child to develop a relationship with the other parent.

3. Input from the child. Section 10 allows the court to consider the preference of the child when making the custody and visitation schedule. The opinion of the child is heard, but it isn't controlling nor is it the only factor that affects the schedule. The preference of children age sixteen and over is given more weight, but again, it doesn't mean that the schedule will reflect exactly what the child wants.

Go Forward

Family Law Attorneys are standing by call 1-800-564-2707

For more information click on these words here.

Home

Eden Utah 1 lawyer divorce

Learn More About a Divorce Lawyer

utah divorce alimony

Go Back

You and your spouse have decided to get a divorce. But, what do you do now? Many people don't know what to do next. This how-to guide should serve this purpose for you and your spouse. It should help alleviate some of the stress and worry you face when going through a divorce in Utah.

There are many different reasons to get a divorce. The state of Utah has set forth its own specific laws concerning divorce. One important thing to consider is that there will never be a jury for any divorce case in Utah. The Utah Divorce Court allows a couple to get an official no-fault divorce. The grounds for a no-fault divorce could be as simple as irreconcilable differences. Utah state divorce laws cannot prevent a divorce if one spouse desires the divorce and one spouse does not.

The state of Utah also offers Divorce Education Classes. These classes offer divorce education for parents, as well as for children. Once you and your spouse have decided to get a divorce, you will need to fill out all appropriate paperwork. You can go to utcourts.gov to get the necessary paperwork. It is also extremely helpful to seek the assistance of a Divorce Lawyer in the state of Utah. These lawyers specialize in Utah divorce proceedings and are the best resource to help you fill out necessary paperwork and give legal counsel concerning your particular case. Utah also offers a computer program, Quick Court, which is an easy way to fill out the divorce application.

There is a cost associated with filing for divorce in the state of Utah. This fee is $310 for the first filing and $115 for a counterclaim. Of course, there will be additional fees according to which lawyer you decide upon.

Utah state law strongly encourages each couple seeking a divorce to settle decisions concerning the dividing of debt/assets, child custody and more between themselves. In most cases, the couple and their lawyers will draw up an agreement. Mediators are also used to help draft resolutions between the two parties. Any agreement reached in mediation or otherwise will be sanctioned by the Utah state court.

In some instances, a couple cannot reach an agreement outside of court. The court will make the decision for them in these situations. Specialized divorce commissioners will sometimes hear the dispute. If the dispute goes to trial, the judge will hear it and make the final decision.

After all of your paperwork has been filled out and submitted, you will need to appear before the judge. These appearances may not require you to be in attendance physically, depending on your particular circumstances.

Obtaining a divorce can be a stressful time for you, your spouse and your children (if any). Choosing the right Utah Divorce attorney can make this time as stress-free as possible. This how-to guide should also help you understand the process of getting a divorce in the state of Utah.

Go Forward

Family Law Attorneys are standing by call 1-800-564-2707

For more information click on these words here.

Home